Matthew Deeprose · ·
Last updated Apr 24, 2024 - 10:45 AM Visible also to unregistered users

April 25, 2024 (4:00 PM - 5:00 PM)

**Date**: Thursday 25 April 2024. **Time**: 07:00 PDT / 10:00 EDT / 15:00 BST / 16:00 CEST / 17:00 TRT / 18:00 GST **Duration**: 1 hour. * [Confirm time in your time zone](https://tinyurl.com/3kmjk5a2). * [Sign up, submit questions in advance, and request a calendar appointment using this form.](https://forms.office.com/e/LJm7M2NRKJ) * [Join Online using Blackboard Collaborate](https://tinyurl.com/AllyUG). # Resources * [Chairs’ slides (8.41MB PowerPoint)](https://blackboard.soton.ac.uk/bbcswebdav/xid-28271965_1) * [My first year as the Digital Accessibility Coordinator at University of Virginia (944.1KB PowerPoint)](https://blackboard.soton.ac.uk/bbcswebdav/xid-28271964_1) # Summary April’s meeting gives us different insights into answering institutional accessibility challenges. We start with one accessibility coordinator reflecting on the first year in her role. We’ll then run our first “Ask me anything” of the year on a topic of interest to anyone working in accessibility. # Agenda 1. My first year as the Digital Accessibility Coordinator at University of Virginia. 2. Ask me anything about procurement and accessibility! 3. Next meeting. 4. Community updates. 5. Any other business. # Session synopses ## My first year as the Digital Accessibility Coordinator at University of Virginia **Brooke Bailey, CPACC. Digital Accessibility Coordinator. University of Virginia.** “In my inaugural year as the Digital Accessibility Coordinator at University of Virginia (UVA), I have had the privilege of spearheading initiatives to enhance digital inclusivity across campus. In this session we will explore UVA’s collaboration efforts with diverse stakeholders, how we have started to foster a culture of digital accessibility awareness, our successes and our missteps!” ## Ask me anything about procurement and accessibility! **George Rhodes. Digital Accessibility Team Lead. University of Westminster.** What steps can universities take to procure services that meet digital accessibility guidelines? George Rhodes is the author of the [“Procurement accessibility guidance” page on MakeThingsAccessible.com](https://www.makethingsaccessible.com/guides/procurement-accessibility-guidance/) and is ready to answer your questions!\ \ ![](file-guid:8275ceb6-ad11-4192-a2d6-ef2b60845dff "April-24-1.png")![](file-guid:9e0153cc-9c5c-4003-8446-f95d82e945b4 "April-24-2.png")![](file-guid:a058e7e9-0924-4a55-85ac-4b21fbdb10b4 "April-24-3.png")

Location

Online via Blackboard Collaborate: https://tinyurl.com/AllyUG
Participants
2 Attending · 0 Invited