Profile picture of Matthew Deeprose
Matthew Deeprose
Public Ally Calendar Events Event
Jan 10, 2023 · Updated

International Ally User Group 26 January 2023

January 26, 2023 (4:00 PM - 5:00 PM)

Date: Thurs 26 January 2023

Time: 07:00 PT / 10:00 ET / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET / 19:00 GST

Slides

Agenda

2023 starts with a big bang in the Ally universe as the North American and European Ally User Groups combine to form the International Ally User Group. Led by the community for the community it will feature talks, workshops, presentations and more from institutions that use Ally and accessibility experts.

This month's meeting has some hot topics previously requested by the community, how to sell the benefits of alternative formats to students, and how educators can implement accessible pedagogy.

  • Introducing User Group Chairs.
  • Community Updates.
  • Accessible Learning using Blackboard Ally - Chloe Bell and Lauren Basey, Northumbria University.
  • Implementing Accessible Pedagogy - Dr Katie Grennell, Anthology.
  • Any other business.

Make sure to join this awesome community event!

Session synopses

Accessible Learning using Blackboard Ally - Chloe Bell and Lauren Basey, Technology Enhanced Learning Assistants specialising in Content Development at Northumbria University.

Blackboard Ally has been available for students to use across Northumbria University for several years now, but student engagement with it is not as good as it could be. Although we only graduated from the University recently, as students we were not aware of the benefits Ally can offer. Now as Assistants within the Technology Enhanced Learning Team at Northumbria, we have begun promoting and marketing the benefits of Blackboard Ally to students across the University.

During the presentation, we will discuss specific marketing strategies and demonstrate some of the resources that we have developed, and we will also discuss our future challenges to promote further awareness.

Implementing Accessible Pedagogy - Dr Katie Grennell, Anthology.

As educators, implementing accessible education means building our classes on the principles of Universal Design for Learning, creating accessible learning content, and cultivating an accessible teaching and learning environment. While the thought of overhauling your content and approach may seem daunting at first, like most things, once you learn the basic principles, you can grow and learn from there.

This session will provide:

  • an overview of the fundamentals of accessibility and disability as they pertain to the higher education classroom
  • a discussion of four tips for implementing accessible pedagogy in the classroom

Participants:
20 attending · 1 maybe
Like (6)  ·   · Download as ICS file